©2018 by The WATTLE Leadership Program. Proudly created with Wix.com

Providing Leadership Training and Support to Women in the University Sector

The severe underrepresentation of women in senior levels of leadership in the university sector, both within academic and professional roles, is an unresolved issue. WATTLE brings together women identified as potential leaders across the university sector to provide an intensive leadership and networking program that is designed, and run, by female academic and professional staff in the university sector. Such a bipartisan agreement between Australian universities is essential to address this problem. WATTLE is based on the highly successful New Zealand Women in Leadership Programme (NZWIL).


2018 Academic Schedule

25 - 30 November 2018
Waurn Ponds Estate

Leadership Development

Managing Change

Work/Life Balance

Maintaining and Building Research Capacity

Leadership in Action: Making a Difference


2018 Academic Program Speakers


Professor Anne Bardoel

Department of Management and Marketing, Faculty of Business and Law, Swinburne University of Technology

2019 Professional Schedule

               2-7 June, 2019

           Waurn Ponds Estate

The Future of Work

Women in Innovation

Strategic Leadership

Embracing Values and Personal Power

Leadership Development

Personal Branding

Managing Change

Organisational Politics


2019 Professional Program Speakers


Brianne Johnstone, Program Facilitator

Digital Learning Designer, Human Reasources and Organisational Development, Deakin University

WATTLE Steering Committee

A/Prof Nicky Eshtiaghi (RMIT)

Dr Bree Gorman (Deakin)

Prof Virginia Kilborn (Swinburne University of Technology)

Prof Birgit Loch (Latrobe University)

A/Prof Helana Scheepers (Swinburne University of Technology)

Prof Rosemary Stockdale (Griffith University)

Ms Linda Adnyana (Curtin)

Ms Bambi Price (Tron Systems)

Ms Jennifer Arnold (Wattle Program Admin Manager)


University Partners


Australian National University

Curtin University

Deakin University

Griffith University

LaTrobe University


Swinburne University of Technology

Murdoch (from 2019)

WATTLE acknowledges the support of the NZWiL program